One for the birthday boy

Happy 16th birthday to my favorite hiking parter, the Lewis to my Clark, the Hillary to my Norgay (he always has to summit first), the Bart to my Homer. Only a few years ago I would wish he would speed up just a bit. Now I keep hoping he’ll slow down…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to One for the birthday boy

  1. Lisa Ramirez says:

    Well, just three sentences and I’m teary-eyed. Beautiful words, beautiful pictures, beautiful boy.

  2. Leanna says:

    I’m 38 and hiked with my 77 year old dad this weekend. I remember him always trying to hurry us up when we were children. This hike, I was trying to hurry him up. He said at the end that he didn’t want to leave the woods, and that as I barreled onwards (we’d been on Washington for almost 11 hours, I was *done*) he’d stop and look around admire the view as he never had in our younger years.

    I think hiking with your kids is one of the best things you can do with them. May you have many more happy trail years together!

  3. pegleeco says:

    I love the pic of him leaning on his pole,giving you a side-long glance. You have given him the skills he will need to persevere and peruse and ponder…3 traits that will support him whatever he tackles.

Leave a Reply

