Shedding the chores

News item: Jogging fights beer belly fat better than weights

Weight training is touted as the cure for many ills. But if the goal is to lose belly fat, aerobic exercise is the only way to go, exercise scientists say
… “Resistance training is a very good way to increase lean muscle,” said Cris Slentz, an exercise physiologist at Duke who led the study.. “And aerobic exercise isn’t.” But if the goal is to lose fat, then aerobic exercise is the ticket, he said.

Jogging fights beer belly fat. Your results, however, may vary.

That’s good news. Lifting weights is the most boring of all exercises. I have enough chores in my life; when I exercise, I like to have fun. That’s why I run and hike. Nothing else.

But losing weight is a chore, too. That’s why I’ve stopped obsessing about it. If I eat better, it’s because I want to run and hike faster.

I don’t run to lose weight. I run (and hike) because I enjoy it, even when it hurts. Every day I’m thankful for the chance to run or hike, and every day I kick myself for not getting back into it sooner.

I spent way to much of my adult life trying to lose weight before I tried physically demanding things like running and hiking. I was an idiot. My advice: Don’t wait for the perfect time to challenge yourself. There’s no such thing as a perfect time. Do it now.

The sweet irony? Once I stopped trying to lose weight, I started to lose weight. I’m down 35 pounds from January, and about 70 pounds since I started serious hiking three years ago. And the weight is still coming off, apparently.

So keep an eye out for my new book, “The Zero Percent Solution: How to lose weight by not giving a shit.”

This entry was posted in running, Uncategorized, weight loss. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Shedding the chores

  1. Here, here. I’ll drink/hike/run to that. Can’t wait for that book. Should be a great read. 😛

  2. I need to lose some weight to. Going to increase my daily hiking mileage. I also started swimming laps again. Boring, but soothing.

Leave a Reply

