Swamp thing

Coming out of the mud pit at the end of the Mountain Epic. I did a face plant halfway through and must have swallowed about a half gallon of water...

Want to to climb a mountain the fast way and see some foliage? Is your idea of a good time extended dry heaves at the summit before a knee-jarring descent to the valley, followed by a face-down trip through a very warm, very syrupy mud pit?

Then I have the event for you.

On Oct. 9 I ran my first mountain race in more than 20 years. The Mountain Epic goes up, then down the slopes of the Sunday River Ski Resort in Newry, Maine. It was everything I thought it would be: exhausting, painful and, thanks to the communal mud pit at the end, almost certainly unsanitary.

It was also a blast. I got myself out of my usual running/hiking comfort zone and tried something I wouldn’t have dared attempt a year ago. (A year ago I couldn’t run a half mile, let alone four miles up and down a mountain.) I met up with some friends I hadn’t seen in years, and I tooled through Bethel, Maine, one of the towns of my childhood. And I drank plenty of recovery beer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Swamp thing

  1. Alyssa says:

    Last year I did a trail run that ended up being more of a mud run due to the night’s previous rain. I ended up bent out of shape because I kept slipping and sliding everywhere. I usually race to PR, but there was no way I could during that race because of the mud and crossing a small river. Sometimes it’s important to run to have fun and get dirty.

Leave a Reply

