The coolest Christmas gift

Tim over at Trail Sherpa has started #1000Words, a new game/series, and it sounds like fun. Here’s how he tells it:

The #1000Words series highlights the images we’ve captured on the trail that tell a story that resonates with us.  As the saying goes “A picture’s worth a thousand words” and we believe it.  Share your images in the comments or on Twitter using the hashtag #1000Words.

You can find his entry here.

Here’s mine:


Last year, the boy and I climbed Mt. Washington on one of the sunniest days of the season. Separately, we each counted scaling New England’s highest peak as a summer goal. That we were able to do it together, as a team, was a blessing.

I was happy enough to be able to reach the top in strong fashion, after not being able to hike a mile a few years earlier. A far greater joy, however, was seeing my son touch the summit sign. The boy was in elementary school when we started hiking together, and our relationship was strengthened by our time together in the woods. Later this year he’ll head for college and our lives will change. I knew that Mt. Washington hike was special when it was happening, and I’m not exaggerating when I say it was one of the best days of my life.

The picture itself isn’t anything great. Thousands of people climb Mt. Washington and thousands more arrive by car or train, and they all pose for the same shot.

For the boy and me, however, it triggers a memory of a great day. And it turned into my favorite Christmas gift when my son had it mounted in glass and turned into a paperweight. It has a special spot in my office; whenever I’m feeling stressed, angry or simply off, I can take a look at the photo and trigger a memory. Suddenly, I’m in a happier place.

This entry was posted in 1000words, Mt. Washington, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The coolest Christmas gift

  1. What a fantastic post Dave! This is exactly what was running through my mind when I crafted my first #1000Words post. Thanks for joining in and sharing your pic. Hopefully more will do it as well.

Leave a Reply

