2012 goal: Talk less, do more

This is the time of year for goal-setting and resolutions. I’ve had plenty of both in past years — lose weight, eat better, finish the 48. I’ve blabbed about those goals pretty loud sometimes.

This year, I’m keeping my mouth shut.

Most self-help advice tells you to share your goals with everyone. The idea is to make yourself accountable to others.

Man, I’m sick of being accountable to others.

I have to be accountable to my family and in my job. There are deadlines to meet, bills to pay, chores to be done. Every day begins with a long list of to-dos. I accept that, but it doesn’t mean I want the same pressure in my outdoor life. I want to be accountable to myself, and myself alone. I want to be able to change my goals without explanation. I want to keep it simple.

And there’s new evidence that telling others about your goals makes you less likely to reach them. Just telling other people about your goals, it seems, gives you almost as much of an ego boost as actually achieving them.


So I’ll still be running, hiking and writing, but I won’t be boring you much with my long-term goals.

Life’s too short and this stuff, above all else, should be fun. Here’s to an outstanding 2012.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012 goal: Talk less, do more

  1. Jackie Hickey says:

    Hi Dave, I love your site…..I want to go up to Mt. Ann Park. (I used to go there as a child until the rt. 128 access was closed. ) Have you been there? It is beautiful and a gorgeous view if I remember.Wit no 128 entry do you know how I would get up there? Their website isn’t really helpful, apparently they are trying to work it out with neighbors. Just thought you might have some ideas…..Thanks, Jackie

  2. Tom Salemi says:

    Amen, Dave. Well said.

Leave a Reply

